Guardiola and the players / PHOTO: ARXIU FCB

With the chance of another Copa del Rey still to come, Guardiola has won 13 trophies in his four seasons in charge of the first team – unquestionably the best record for any manager of the club. Not only has no FC Barcelona manager ever won as many titles, but Guardiola also managed to do so in an amazingly short period of time.

Johan Cruyff won 11 titles between 1988 and 1996, including the club’s first ever European Cup. We then have to go all the way back to Jack Greenweell, who in two different periods (1917-1924 and 1931-1933), accumulated 8 cups. Fernando Daucik is next in line after conquering six major titles between 1950 and 1954, while Frank Rijkaard managed the club to five.

Successful model

Pep Guardiola took over the first team in the summer of 2008, after leading the B team into Division 2B the season before. In his first year at the Camp Nou, he won the treble of the league, cup and Champions League. Since then, he has always won at least three trophies a season. 2009 ended with him adding the two Supercups and the first ever Clubs World Cup.

But that was only the start of it for Barça and Guardiola, for the next year they won La Liga with a record tally of 99 points. Last season they won no less than the Spanish Supercup, La Liga and the fourth Champions league. This season, the club has already won the two Supercups again, as well as another Clubs World Cup, with the Copa del Rey final still to come on May 25 against Athletic Bilbao.

Much individual recognition

Josep Guardiola has also won a number of individual honours in his four years as first team manager, including the Parliament of Catalonia’s Medal of Honour (2011), FIFA Manager of the Year (2011), Onze d’Or for best manager in Europe (2009 and 2011) and the LFP Award for the best manager in the Spanish Liga (2009 and 2011), among many others. 

Back to top