Pep Guardiola is one of the three finalists for the 2011 FIFA World Coach of the Year Award, alongside Sir Alex Fergusson and José Mourinho. The winner will be announced in a ceremony in Zurich on January 9th.

Four titles in 2011

Pep Guardiola's nomination is a recognition of the four titles he guided Barça to during the year: La Liga, Champions League, European and Spanish Super Cups with the possibility of a fifth, if they can win the Club World Cup this month.

Guardiola, who has won 12 of the 15 competitions the team have played in since he took over and at the age of 40 he already has an impressive record as a manager. Alex Ferguson, who has been a top flight manager for much longer of course, has just marked a quarter of a century in charge at Old Trafford and in 2011 United won the Premier and the Charity Shield. Jose Mourinho is the third aspirant after Real Madrid took the Spanish Cup –beating Barça in the final – in the Portuguese manager's first season at the Bernabeu.

Votes will be cast by managers (33%), international captains (33%) and journalists (33%).

Many individual awards

This is the second time that FIFA and France Football have made the award and is one of the few individual honours that Guardiola has yet to achieve. Guardiola has won the following awards as manager at Barça:

IFFHS Coach of the Year (2009)

Trofeu Miguel Muñoz for the best coach in La Liga (2009 and 2010)

European Coach of the Year (2009 and 2011)

LFP award as best coach(2009 and 2011).

Guardiola was also honoured by the Catalan Parliament this year and given the Gold Medal of Honour.

Back to top