Xavi with his award

Xavi Hernández received a new acknowledgement from the footballing world. Barça’s midfield maestro won the first edition of the Premio Bulgarelli Número 8, sponsored by the Italian Football Players Association with the support of FIFPro. The other finalists were Daniele de Rossi (Roma) and Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich).

The award ceremony, well attended by well-known athletes, was held at the Palazzo Accursio in Bologna. However, the President of the Bulgarelli Association, Luigi Colombo, Italian Football Players Association President, Damiano Tommasi, and Secretary General, Gianni Grazioli, awarded Xavi his trophy at the Ciutat Esportiva.

Jury chair, Capello

The selection of the three finalists was made by a jury chaired by the ex-England manager Fabio Capello. The jury is made up of historic ex-players like Luis Suárez, Gianni Rivera, Giovanni Trapattoni, Sandro Mazzola, José Altafini, Sergio Campana, César Prandelli, Damiano Tommasi, and Luigi Colombo. Journalists from Italian and international daily sports news outlets are also part of the jury.

Back to top