Barça will feature in the Spanish Super Cup for the fourth consective year / PHOTO: Arxiu FCB

For the fourth consecutive year FC Barcelona will fight for the Spanish Super Cup after beating Athletic Club in the Copa del Rey Final on Friday. Which means that the Azulgranas will once again face Real Madrid in a repeat of last year’s two-leg title tie. In the 2011/12 season, Barça won the title after drawing 2-2 at the Bernabéu and winning 3-2 at the Camp Nou.

Josep Guardiola has always led his team to a Spanish Super Cup berth during his four-year stint on the Barça bench. The Azulgranas, moreover, have won each and every Spanish Super Cup that they’ve played with Guardiola as manager. In 2009 they beat Athletic Club in the final, in 2010 they saw off Sevilla and in 2011 they beat Real Madrid.

Vilanova will watch the match from the stands

The Spanish Super Cup tie brings a bit of added motivation for the Barça players. It will be the first title in play for Tito Vilanova as head manager of FC Barcelona after Guardiola’s departure. It’s the best possible stage for Tito to make his debut: in a Barça-Madrid Clásico. However, Vilanova will have to watch the first match from the stands. The same goes for José Mourinho, who will miss the first and second leg due to the two-match ban he earned during last year’s Spanish Super Cup match at the Camp Nou.

Sixth Spanish Super Cup Clásico

Barça and Real Madrid have played against each other on five occasions in this tournament. The record in the Spanish Super Cup currently favours the Madrid side as they’ve gone on to win the title on four occasions. However, it’s worth mentioning that Barça beat Real Madrid for the first time in the competition last year and the Azulgranas have won the Spanish Super Cup three years in a row.

The Azulgranas are the King of Cups in this competition as well. They’ve won the title on 10 occasions, Real Madrid have won it 8 times. Barça also have more appearances in the Spanish Super Cup; Barça have played in the title tie 17 times, while Madrid have featured in the two-leg final 12 times.

Back to top