Thiago i Mascherano. FOTO: ARXIU FCB.

Barça are off to Madrid to face Athletic Bilbao with several of the players that played in the same fixture, but in Valencia, in 2008/09. Twelve of the 21 members of the current squad helped win the Copa del Rey that year, namely Valdés, Alves, Piqué, Puyol, Xavi, Iniesta, Messi, Pinto, Keita, Busquets, Pedro and Abidal.

The Calderón will be the venue for the Copa del Rey Final debuts of Javier Mascherano, Alexis Sánchez, Thiago Alcântara and Isaac Cuenca. The fifth would be Andreu Fontàs, but he misses the game through injury. None of them have ever won a senior national cup, either with Barça or anybody else.

Four looking to win again, but with Barça

There are four players in the team who have won cups, but not for Barcelona. Villa won the Copa del Rey with Zaragoza (2004) and Valencia (2008), and Adriano won it twice with Sevilla (2007 and 2010). In addition, Cesc won the FA Cup with Arsenal in 2005 and Afellay won the Dutch Cup in 2005. At the Calderón, these four players will be looking for another cup title, but this time as FC Barcelona players.

Back to top