Final of the King's Cup in 2009 / PHOTO: ARXIU FCB

Athletic Club and FC Barcelona will meet for the seventh time in the final of the King’s Cup. Barça is the team with the most Cup titles, with 25, and Athletic Club is second with 23.

The first title of the treble

It was May 13th, 2009. Barça was close to claiming the Liga crown and the team had booked a spot in the finals of the Champions League and the Cup. It was the Cup final, at Mestalla, when Barça started its historic treble bid. Athletic Club, their first final in 24 years, scored the first goal through Toquero. But Barça fought back to claim the title with fantastic football and goals from Toure, Messi, Bojan and Xavi. The Liga and the Champions League followed suit soon there after.

The worst memory

Of the six finals that Barça and Athletic Club have played, the worst was in the 1984 final at the Santiago Bernabeu. It was a match to forget, because of the loss -Endika scored the winning goal- and because of the behaviour between the two sides after the match. It was the last match for manager Menotti and player Diego Armando Maradona as Azulgranas.

A classic

Much before 1984, however, both the teams dominated the Cup and regularly met in the final. Barça won in 1953 (2-1), 1942 (4-3), and 1920 (2-0), while Los Leones won in 1932 (0-1). In total, of the six finals played, four have been won by Barça and two by Athletic Club.

Back to top