FC Barcelona win second consecutive Fair Play Award / PHOTO: ARXIU FCB

The Fair Play Award, a distinction that the Spanish Football Federation bestows on the cleanest Primera División club in La Liga, has been awarded to FC Barcelona. This year, however, Guardiola’s men share the recognition with Málaga. The Federation evaluates La Liga teams on a point system: three points for a direct red card, two points for two yellow cards and one point for a yellow card - Competition Committee bans also factor into the Federation’s point system. Both the clubs, FCB and Málaga, finished the season with 91 points.

The team with the most awards

This is Barça’s second consecutive season winning the Fair Play Award. The first time the Catalans won the award after the 2005/06 season, and since then they won it three more times (2008/09, 2010/11 and 2011/12). With four total Fair Play awards, FC Barcelona are the team that have been recognized the most by the Spanish Football Federation since the award was instituted in 1998.

Back to top