Valdés i Messi, en el partit de Lliga al Camp Nou davant el Mallorca / FOTO: ARXIU FCB

Since the league started in 1929, only twelve teams have produced both the top scorer and the top goalkeeper in the same competition. FC Barcelona is the latest thanks to the 50 goals scored by Messi and the mere 28 conceded by Valdés, who both win their respective trophies after also doing the double in 2009/10. These are the only times FC Barcelona have produced the winners of both accolades.

Messi double

Leo Messi thus joins a select group of players that have topped the scoring charts in la Liga on more than one occasion. His predecessors have been Forlán, Raúl, Ronaldo, Kempes, Amancio, Pahiño, Mundo and Gorostiza. Meanwhile, Valdés has not only equalled Ramallets’ legendary record of five Zamora titles, but has also become the first person to win four times in a row.

Non league winners

A team that produces the best striker and goalkeeper in a league season would normally be expected to also take the Liga championship. That was not the case with FCB this season, and neither was it the first time this peculiar circumstance has happened. Athletic Bilbao (1946/47), Valencia (1957/58) and Deportivo (1992/93) faced the same fate.

Season Pitxitxi Zamora Liga champion
1946/47 Zarra (Athletic Club) Lezama (Athletic Club) València
1957/58 Ricardo (València) Goyo (València) R.Madrid
1992/93 Bebeto (Deportivo) Liaño (Deportivo) FC Barcelona
2011/12 Messi (FC Barcelona) Valdés (FC Barcelona) R.Madrid


Back to top