This Thursday 7th June is the 20th anniversary of winning the 1991/92 league title, an achievement that was celebrated all the more due to the unusual circumstances surrounding the final triumph. The legendary Barça Dream Team, managed by Johan Cruyff, started the season badly, with a number of unexpected setbacks that meant they trailed the league leaders, Real Madrid, by eight points by matchday 14.

However, that Barça team was destined for glory and gradually reduced the gap on their great rivals, so much so that by the last day of the season the title was still undecided. If Barça beat Athletic Club in the Camp Nou and Real Madrid failed to win in Tenerife, the title would go to Barça.

And that’s exactly what happened. On 7th June 1992 a Barça win (2-0, both goals from Hristo Stoichkov), combined with an incredible defeat (3-2) for Real Madrid – who were unable to hang onto a 0-2 lead – handed the league title to FC Barcelona. In this way, Barça won the league in a season when they had not led the table at any moment before the final whistle! The players on that glorious day were: Zubizarreta, Ferrer, Alexanko, Juan Carlos, Guardiola, (Nadal), Bakero (Julio Salinas), Goikoetxea, Amor, Laudrup, Stoichkov and Eusebio. Barça finished with 55 points, Real Madrid with 54 and Atlético Madrid with 53.

Joint celebration

The players celebrated the title with the fans in the Camp Nou together with the European Cup that they had conquered on 20th May in Wembley. These two trophies made the 1991/92 season the most successful in the history of the Club up to that moment. It has to be said that since then there have been a good many more seasons that have equalled or even surpassed that extraordinary year.

Back to top