Alexia Putellas is 'The Best'

The Catalan midfielder takes the award given out by FIFA to the outstanding player of the year

Alexia Putellas is now The Best. After having been chosen as the best player of the year by UEFA and France Football, the Barça number 11 has now been crowned 'The Best' by world football governing body FIFA. 


Alexia received the award from Barça captain Sergio Busquets during the gala which took place remotely from Zurich, Switzerland. The Barça midfielder collected an average score of 52 points, pipping Chelsea player Sam Kerr (38 points) to the prize and her team mate Jennifer Hermoso (33 points) in third place. It was the first time that FC Barcelona or a team from the Spanish League had placed two players in the top three for the women's award. 


'It's all the work over the years. Let's hope 2022 is the same' 

After winning the award, Alexia Putellas took the opportunity to thank the Club and her team mates for their role in her victory. For Alexia it is an award for '"everyone." 


"This mean there will be the same motivation, if not more, for this year," she added. "This is not the product of months or days, it is the work of many years. 2021 was perfect and we hope 2022 will be the same. Barça have put together an incredible project and it working hard to keep it that way for many years to come." 

Would you like Alexia's shirt?
Enter into the draw and win the shirt of the best female player in the world

Lieke Martens, only previous winner of 'The Best' 

Alexia Putellas is not the only current Barça player to have won the award. Dutch striker Lieke Martens was took the prize in 2017 after winning the European Championships with the Netherlands and being named player of the tournament. After moving to FC Barcelona in the summer of 2017 her excellent form continued and she became the first ever Barça Women player to be named 'The Best'. 

Want Alexia's shirt?
Get the same blaugrana strip as the captain of the women's team

Since then, Brazilian Marta Vieira (2018), USA player Megan Rapinoe (2019) and England international Lucy Bronze (2020) have all won the award.


More news here