FCB Alusport – ElPozo Murcia: Champions of the league! (4-3)

FCB Alusport – ElPozo Murcia: Champions of the league! (4-3)

Barça claim their third consecutive league title after defeating ElPozo on penalties

Perhaps tonight’s was one of the best matches in recent futsal history.  The packed Palau Blaugrana experienced an epic night, it was a moment that won’t soon be forgotten. 40 minutes of spectacle, five of overtime and, finally, penalties decided which team would be champions of the league. The emotions and the adrenaline were to the max, and when Jordi Torras scored the final penalty, the Palau exploded with excitement. Barça Alusport had won its third consecutive league title.

ElPozo strike first

The first minutes of the match were a nightmare for Marc Carmona and his men. ElPozo were aggressive and they had a very clear idea of what to do: go straight at Sedano’s goal from the first minute. Gréllo, after a good play from Adri, scored the 0-1 before the fist minute. Barça, notably nervous, were unable to regain their composure and by the fourth minute they found themselves trailing by two. From that moment on the Blaugrana improved.

Fernandao pulled Barça Alusport within a goal of equalising the match after Ari Santos served us a fantastic assist. The two teams went to the break with 1-2 on the scoreboard despite Barça’s urgency to tie the match before second half.

Barça tie it up

Barça Alusport came out swinging at the start of the second half. They had no other option. Luckily, the 2-2 was scored on the 24th minute. Sergio Lozano found himself alone in front of goal and he quickly bested Rafa to equalise for the Blaugrana. But the 2-2 deadlock only lasted for 60 seconds. Miguelín, after a spectacular play, made it 2-3.

The 6,479 fans waited for 35 minutes for Barça to finally equalise again. In a give-and-go with Lin, Aicardo scored to make it 3-3. The match came to an end five minutes later, it was time for overtime.

Overtime and penalties

Barça Alusport enjoyed a couple of good chances in overtime but Rafa was up to the task. But everything could have changed when there were only 50 seconds left on the clock: Barça committed their sixth and seventh fouls and ElPozo had two chances to score from the double penalty spot. Sedano saved the first and the woodwork the second. Penalties would decide the champion of the league.

The four first penalty takers for Murcia scored, but they missed their fifth. Barça Alusport, however, scored all five, the last was taken by Torras. When the Barça player slotted the ball into the back of the net the Palau erupted in celebration, Barça Alusport had won its third league title.

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article