31 FC Barcelona medalists in the European Championship

31 FC Barcelona medalists in the European Championship

The 8 medals won in Denmark set a new Club record for awards won during a European Championship

FC Barcelona’s players return to the team with eight European Championship medals, two of them are gold (Karabatic and Sorhaindo), one is silver (Noddesbo) and five are bronze (Tomás, Gurbindo, Viran, Entrerríos and Sarmiento). Barça, with 11 players, were the most represented team in the Denmark European Championship.

Gold medal winners

FC Barcelona have seven European Championship gold medal winners in its history. The first two were the Swedes Svensson and Franzen in 2002. After them, the Frenchman Jerome Fernández won the European Championship in Switzerland in 2006.

Kasper Hvidt and Jesper Noddesbo were champions in Norway in 2008, and finally Karabatic and Sorhaindo claimed the gold medal in this year’s edition of the European Championship.

11 silver medal winners

Nine FC Barcelona players won the silver medal for Spain and now Noddesbo joins the list after this year’s European Championship.

Masip, Olalla, Garralda, Gujijosa (on two occasions), Barrufet, Romero, Jaunín, Txepkin and Ortega were rewarded with the silver medal when they finished second in the competition.

Bronze for 13 players

The five players managed by Xavi Pascual who won the bronze medal in the European Championship are Tomás, Gurbindo, Viran, Entrerríos and Sarmiento. Eight Barça players had won the medal before this edition of the European Championship.

Barrufet, Txepkin, Guijosa, Masip, Urdangarín, Lozano and Ortega won it for Spain and Jerome Fernández won it for France.

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article