FC Barcelona Lassa beat Málaga 80–62, hoist ACB Super Cup

FC Barcelona Lassa beat Málaga 80–62, hoist ACB Super Cup

Team conquers title for sixth time in Club history after beating Gran Canaria in the semi-finals and Málaga in the final

FC Barcelona won their second title of the 2015/16 season in as many tries, beating host Málaga by a score of 80–62 in the final game of the ACB Super Cup. It was a big third quarter in which the team coached by Xavi Pascual ran away from Málaga en route to the Club's sixth Super Cup title in their history, and their first since 2012.

Shooting guard Pau Ribas led the way for Barça, leading all scorers with 15 points, including a perfect 8 for 8 from the free throw line. Ribas was named Super Cup MVP.

Small forward Stratos Perperoglou added 13 points while going 3 for 6 from three-point territory and Carlos Arroyo chipped in with 10 points and a game-high 6 assists to help propel the Catalans to the title. Barça's Shane Lawal had a game-high 8 rebounds.

Lithuanian small forward Mindaugas Kuzminskas was Málaga's top scorer with 12 points.

Málaga were actually up in the early going when Barça two guard, the Alaska native Brad Oleson, who scored 9 points and went 3 for 5 from beyond the arc, dropped his first two three-balls of the evening to knot the game at 15–15. Another American, power forward Justin Doellman, dropped a trey of his own in the midst of a 13–0 Barça run that put them up 22–15 at the end of the first quarter.

Málaga battled back in the second frame but with Arroyo running the offense and Ribas in impeccable form, Barça went to the intermission still up by 6 points at 37–31.

After the break, it was Perperoglou's turn to light up the scoreboard. He nailed two big threes to put Barça up 50–42 before power forward Aleksandar Vezenkov, who scored 8 points on the evening, would stretch Barça's lead to 57–43 and essentially finish Málaga off.

The fourth quarter was no better for the hosts as Arroyo and Lawal were key in convincing Málaga they had no chance to come back and win this one.

Força Barça
Força Barça
Close article