Raul Sanllehí receives the award from Karl Heinz Rummenigge / ECA

FC Barcelona have been acknowledged on Monday by ECA (European Club Association) as the European Club of the Year in a dinner in Geneva ahead of the organisation’s General Assembly which will take place in the Swiss city on Tuesday and which will be attended by the FC Barcelona president Josep Maria Bartomeu.

The blaugrana Club was represented by the director of football management, Raul Sanllehí and the award was presented by the ECA president, Karl Heinz Rummenigge in recognition of successes of last season both domestically and internationally. It is the second time that Barça have received the prize, the first coming in 2011. In claiming it again this year they have became the first club to be recognised twice for their triumphs.

The dinner came ahead of the General Assembly which will take place on Tuesday morning local time in Geneva and will have Josep Maria Bartomeu in attendance. The meeting will have as its main business the election of 11 members to its Executive Committee who will be added to the four members who make up the UEFA Strategic Professional Football Committee, President Bartomeu, Umberto Gandini from AC Milan, Ivan Gazidis from Arsenal FC and Evgeni Giner (PFC CSKA Moskva). Once the committee’s members have been decided then a new president and three vice presidents will be appointed.

Following ECA General Assembly, Josep Maria Bartomeu will also attend the Strategic Professional Football Committee meeting which will take place on Wednesday at UEFA's headquarters in Nyon.

ECA recognise FC Barcelona as club of the year por fcbarcelona
Back to top