Sandro Rosell, who is in Geneva, attended the General Assembly of the ECA (European Club Association) which was tasked with selecting the Executive Committee. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge was re-elected as president, Umberto Gandini (AC Milan) was re-elected as first vice-president, and Sandro Rosell was re-elected as second vice-president.

Evgeni Giner, from CSKA Moscow, is the newcomer to the Executive Committee as he replaces Anderlecht’s Michel Verschueren as the third vice-president. The FC Barcelona president’s seat at the Executive Committee’s table was already secured given that he’s a member of UEFA’s Professional Football Strategy Council. He was named to the post last month.

“It’s an honour and a privilege to have the support from European clubs, I will keep on defending their interests as the ECA’s vice-president and president of the marketing and communications group,” said Rosell, who will remain in office until 2015. It’s worth noting the members of the Executive Committee serve two-year terms.

Athletic Club and Real Sociedad, among other clubs, joined the ECA this year. The total number of European clubs represented at the ECA is 214. In total, there are nine Primera División teams in the organisation (Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Valencia, Sevilla, Malaga, Athletic Club and Real Sociedad).

Back to top