The team with the Club World Cup trophy in Japan / PHOTO: ARXIU FCB

The list of winners for the annual awards given out by the International Sports Press Association (AIPS) was published this Wednesday. FC Barcelona was named the best team of 2011, with 43% of the vote, ahead of the All Blacks and the Brazilian national volleyball team, after the votes from 363 journalists, representing 80 countries, were tallied. Barça Intersport, reigning champions of the Asobal League and the Champions League, finished fourth, garnering 7,57% of the vote.

Leo Messi finished second in the individual award, with 20% of the vote. The Argentinian finished ahead of Usain Bolt, Sebastian Vettel and Roger Federer. The tennis player, Novak Djokovic, who won the Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open, finished first.

The awards gala will take place on January 13 in Innsbruck, where the President of the International Olympic Committee, Jacques Rogge and the FIFA President, Joseph Blatter will be in attendance. FC Barcelona Institutional Area Vice President, Carls Vilarrubí, will represent the Club at the gala.

Fair Play award for the Under-17 B side

Barça’s Under-17 B side was awarded the Fair Play award for allowing Castelladefels to score a goal after Barça had scored on their injured keeper. The team was managed by Sergi Barjuan at the time. This is the second year the Fair Play award has been given out and it will be awarded during the gala on January 13.

Back to top